I am a CLIP (Confident Leader In Progress)

Today, despite it being Saturday; a day of lazing around in pyjamas doing nothing; I felt the need to get up and do something productive. I felt a great urge, a voice, deep inside me calling to be let out and allowed to become a leader. A leader to the youth of today and the future of tomorrow. To lead this country into a new era of successful economy, competent government and technological development. To lead the world into a new era of peace, love and equality!

Okay that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but I did sign on to a 6 weeks Young Leadership course. At first my only motivation was to be able to wave around the nice “CV worthy” certificate at the end of it but after today’s first session I have realised that I really need this and should try to gain as much from it as I can. This is because I have come to accept that I am somewhat lacking in social skills.

I’m a bit paradoxical. I don’t like awkward silences nor do I like awkward conversations. So, I hate to initiate or involve in a conversation just as I hate to be without one. That is not to say that I am a complete anti-social being that hides in the corner but I’m not exactly the outgoing, confident person that is comfortable at the center. I would like to be that person but I think it may need a bit of work.

Take today as an example. I wanted to say things. I wanted to contribute my ideas and my views but I was too shy. I was scared to have my opinions shot down and made fun of. I wasn’t comfortable enough to take an active role in a group of people who I didn’t know. They were friendly enough and I wasn’t the only person who kept silent throughout but I couldn’t pluck up the courage to be heard.

That is something I would like to change. No, it is something that I am going to change. That is my new goal for the future.  I will be a more outspoken, outgoing individual. I will be self-assured. I will be heard. That is also my new motivation for continuing on this Young Leaders course. Leaders are confident and certain of themselves. They make everyone confident in them and certain of them. I’m not talking about presidents and prime ministers. I’m talking about ordinary people who inspire people, motivate people and contribute to the greater good.

“If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.” 

(John Quincy Adams)

So, as of today I am a C.L.I.P (confident leader in progress). First on my studies was teamwork; the importance of teamwork and how to be a good team player. From what I gathered of the lesson you need to be able to contribute your ideas and engage with the rest of the team whilst at the same time listen to other people’s ideas and accept them. You need to be tolerant, respectful and proactive. Part of being a team is using the wider experience you have, making use of individual strengths and covering up individual weaknesses. Working together towards a shared aim is far more efficient than working alone.

“Coming together is a beginning.
Keeping together is progress.
Working together is success.”

(Henry Ford)

7 thoughts on “I am a CLIP (Confident Leader In Progress)

  1. Thank you for liking my post today.

    I also feel the same way about saying things. I wish I would often say what I think, but like you, I usually just keep quiet. Thank you for the encouragement your post gave me today.

  2. Im not sure how old you are but I’m assumming your in college. You’ll come to learn that no ideas are dumb and never be shy. Speak up. You sound like you above average and you should run with it. Speak now or forever hold your peace. lol

  3. I wish you well in speaking up. I tend to get in my own way a lot (and I also fear awkwardness in a major way). I think it is good to take steps to change that now. I’m in my late 30s and often over hesitate about saying something (and when talking things over a little later get told I should have said something!)

  4. That’s great that you’re taking a leadership course! I’m shy and have trouble sharing my opinions (especially in groups), too. I think you are taking a great step towards becoming more outgoing by taking this course. Best wishes to you on your journey!

  5. Pingback: My Life In a Box | Y@smine in the World.Wide.Web

Leave a Reply

