High Court Fashion: The Horse Wig?

I can now proudly say that I have completed a full 2 weeks of work (experience) and let not anyone else say that it went to waste. As well as becoming an expert in a wide array of menial office jobs; photocopying, shredding, printing, hole punching, filing; I also managed to gain an insightful look into the world of High Court fashion.

Last week, I had my first visit to court. I sat in on the case of an 18-year-old who had been growing cannabis in his flat, not your typical houseplant but who’s to say he was going to smoke it? Can’t a teenager grow cannabis anymore without people making assumptions?

Apparently not. The judge did not seem to agree with me, refusing to believe that the boy was using the cannabis as an eclectic piece of house hold decor due to the high unlikeliness of it (and the fact that he pleaded guilty).

Away from the drama of the court room, the friendly barrister met with me and shared his job description, court stories and valuable  fashion tips. Dressed in a classy black robe, shiny shoes and a charming grey wig that brought out the blue in his eyes, he was willing to impart on me his knowledge of the competitive, sharp and colourful world of high court fashion.

Not surprisingly, my eyes were drawn to the curled up wig on his head that did little for his physique and aged his appearance by a decade. Around the court-house it seemed to be a fashion fad, as every serious faced lawyer was given a comical appearance by their greying locks. This trend goes back to early Tudor times when black flat bonnets or caps were worn in court. Since then, lawyers and judges have decided that they would much rather wear hair. What an improvement! 

This court accessory does not come cheap either with prices ranging from around £300 to £1,000. A ridiculous amount for a wig if I do say so myself. One should not have to pay such a fortune to look one’s very  best in the presence of judge and jury. Why such a high price for a wig? Is it designer? Gucci? Prada?

No, but close.It is in fact made out of pure horse hair which is apparently quite expensive. At first they were made of human hair.People in debt would sell their hair to the wigmaker, and there was a  trade in the hair of the dead.

Should any one of my readers want to wear horse hair on their head or feels the need to purchase one of these delightful wigs follow here is one I found online at a bargain price:

Dark Blonde Barrister’s Wig

Hand Made From 100%Pure Horse Hair

PRICE £305.00

http://www.gifts4lawyers.co.uk/mall/productpage.cfm/GiftsforLawyers/_1001/107076

11 thoughts on “High Court Fashion: The Horse Wig?

  1. Oddly enough, this fashion is still taking place today in the courts of Hong Kong long after British rule as subsided. Its good fun every so often to go down to the court house and poke fun at how rediculous everyone looks. Nice post!

  2. I loved that you included a link to where your readers could purchase a horse hair wig if they happened to be in some sort of need for one. I’m surprised at how expensive they are… must be really amazing horse hair.

  3. Your blog is quite lovely. I adore your header image – it’s very soothing. And the pink background – very chic! I like the photo you posted for this post; absolutely stunning. Great post, and I’ll stop by to your blog again soon!

  4. My dad works for the Anglican church so he has to buy very official get-ups. When I went with him to get one sized we arrived at this quaint little shop that sold church wear and judge/law clothing. (I really don’t know what else to call it). I was so tempted to try it on! Didn’t…and regret it.

Leave a Reply

