Kicking off the school year with a Baked Alaska

Today was my first day of my last year in my current school. The holidays have come to a close and it is time to get back into the routine; homework; exams and most difficult of all; normal human sleeping hours. I can no longer observe the sleeping hours of a fanged mythical being…what a pity. After a night of tossing and turning I am almost regretting the damage a summer holiday of “crazy living” has done to my body clock.

This year is a year of change for me. One that will lead on to even greater change and hopefully it will be a memorable one, for the right reasons of course. I would hate for it to be ingrained into my memory as the year were it all went wrong. I am hoping for positive change worth remembering. Our school has a new head teacher, after years of campaigning (moaning) we finally have a new uniform and my year group has formed the school council. To translate; responsibilities, uncertainty and a lot of hard work. But I’m up to the challenge or at least I’m up to convincing myself that I am.

Not to be disheartened by the end of our summer freedom, my little sister and I decided to put a twist on the original bang and kick off the school year with a Baked Alaska in celebration of our sister’s ascent into teenage-hood. Today was a milestone in her short life and she had requested a home-baked cake. Our eagerness to comply had nothing to do with the fact we were saving ourselves from buying presents.

After much deliberation, browsing down the frozen cakes’ and ready-made mixes’ aisles, we decided that we would make the effort and actually start from base. We refused to yield to our mother’s recurring suggestion that we buy a pre-made base despite the temptation. Instead, we put on our aprons and hit the kitchen like professionals with years of experienced cookery programme watching under our belts. We even did the exciting, dare-devilish thing of standing under the bowl of meringue, albeit nervously. It wasn’t as hard as we had anticipated and I survived with only a minor burn.

In the end, the look of delighted surprise on my sister’s teenage face was worth all the fun we had. I suppose she had not been expecting anything as edible as was produced despite her reassurance that she knew we would come through. Either she is a terribly proficient liar or she has a dangerous amount of faith in us.

So, it’s official. My sister has been a constant irritant at my side for thirteen itchy years and if it is up to her, many more. I wish her a Merry Birthday and a Happy School Year!

8 thoughts on “Kicking off the school year with a Baked Alaska

Leave a Reply

