Where childhood ends…

Today, I have suffered injustice. I now know what it means to be left out, scorned and treated like a second class citizen because of something I have no control over. I feel hurt, hurt by the unfairness of it all.

Since when were teenagers not allowed into the playground without an accompanying younger child? What is this nonsense?

I queued for twenty minutes outside the Princess Diana memorial playground in Hyde Park only to be turned away. Twenty minutes of my life wasted and my childhood ripped away. Not that many years ago, I would climb to the top of the pirate ship, hide in the red-indian tepees and hunt for the closed treasure chest in that playground but today, I was too old.

When it comes to voting, I am a child but all this changes at the playground gates. Why is that?

The ducks didn’t think I was too old for a chat. They understand the insignificance of age better than any human authority.

The irony of it is that I was turned away from a Peter Pan themed playground for being too grown-up.

Peter Pan

“If growing up means it would be beneath my dignity to climb a tree, I’ll never grow up, never grow up, never grow up! Not me!”

I should have grabbed a few kids from the queue and gone in with them, or claimed to be younger than I am. I should have complained and made a big fuss. I should have never grown up.

Are you ever too old to play? Have you ever been turned away?

6 thoughts on “Where childhood ends…

  1. Ohhh no! That’s truly horrible. :/ It’s weird growing up.
    When I walk past a park I sometimes get an urge to play on the swings, but we have a sign on the park close to us saying no people over 15, of course, sometimes I still sneak in. 😉 I resent being put in a box, a restricted age bracket. It shouldn’t work that way, after all, we’re all kids at heart.

  2. Oh, the unfairness of it all! Of course, as a teen I looked half my age and probably could have walked into a children’s park until I was 20. But, like you, I wouldn’t have lied.

    The key is, though we must grow up, never grow old. A 92 yr old woman once that told a friend of mine that she still felt like she was 17, and would look in a mirror and think, “Gosh, who is that old woman?” She said that no matter what people try to tell you, age is just a number. (Of course, that’s easy for her to say. She didn’t get thrown out of a children’s park, right?)

    • Definitely a long time. I can’t even remember my log in details!
      Thanks for asking 🙂
      Things are just the usual busy. I started sixth form and whilst I am not drowning in work, as they told us we would, I’ve lost by blogging groove. I also started my own personal creative writing, so my writing energies were spent elsewhere. I don’t know if I’ll get back to blogging. Maybe when my life starts getting interesting…but until then, I’m watching you…or reading your blog, at least 😉

Leave a Reply

